Home > Liberal Propaganda, Politics > ROCK, FLAG, AND EAGLE!

ROCK, FLAG, AND EAGLE!

I want to be very clear. I’m glad Osama Bin Laden is dead. Even though I do find enjoyment in him being dead, I’m not going to go out and celebrate. I’m not going to pretend the world is that much of a safer place. I’m not going to pretend like I contributed to this victory in any way. And I’m not going to say this boosts my morale.

I typically would not post anything on this, but my feelings can’t be summarized in 140 characters or less.

When I first heard that Obama was making a surprise announcement tonight I dismissed it as him officially announcing his run for presidency in 2012. I still sat down in front of the TV and searched through the decimal channels on my converter box. If you’re unaware, converter boxes actually have decimal channels (I watched the announcement on 4.1). I turned it on just quick enough to catch a clip of Donald Trump’s The Apprentice get interrupted for the President to make this huge announcement.

We all know what happens next. For 20 minutes or so, whatever news network you were watching gave away the big surprise all the while making statements that this is changing the world. Security at the airports. The war on terror. It was all changing.

Finally, Obama comes on and tells us what we know; Osama Bin Laden, the leader of Al Qaeda since it’s inception, is dead. Just like a class act he points out the sacrifice so many Americans have made, the unity America felt after 9/11, and the support for the United States Military, Pakistani government, and The Heroes of 9/11*.

We all facebooked it, tweeted it, and whatever else people do’d it.

I’m still left with a lot of thoughts. Mainly, “HOW THE HELL DID WE COME TO THIS?”.

Remember just last week when America’s biggest concern was whether or not our own President was really American? Remember when our own President had to fly one of his aides across the country to satisfy the ridiculous demands of the people he’s supposed to leading?

Remember his speech after shunning the media and those who fueled the birther fire? Which let’s be honest, wouldn’t be an issue if he was a white man with a white name.

And while people were focused on if Obama was American or not, who paid attention to the heroes who risked their lives and health on The Pile in NYC now having to be screened by the FBI for their sacrifices to keep terrorists from getting federal money.

I can see Al Qaeda's plot now.

I know I may come off as a downer, but the average American citizen has no reason to celebrate the death of Bin Laden because we didn’t sacrifice. Let’s stop celebrating the death of one man and recognize the sacrifices of others.

Contrary to how some are acting, Obama didn’t kill Bin Laden. The soldiers did. He may have signed off on it, but they’re the ones that risked their lives. And that’s coming from self-proclaimed Obama supporter.

Pictured: Not actually what happened.

If you’ve made it this far I congratulate you. It’s further than I would have read. I just want to ask everybody to not squander the unity we saw almost 10 years ago. I’m not celebrating because I didn’t need this morale boost as everyone keeps calling it. I never lost my faith in the capabilities of our soldiers.

Rock, flag, and eagle…

*That’s right. They get emboldened, capitalized, and underlined.
They’ll never get enough respect.
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment